Is it “Jeans” or “Jean?”

The English language has a lot of funny wording but one that sticks out at me is the expression to call a single jean a “pair of jeans.”  I’ve talked about this with many of my friends and everyone immediately says that it’s called a “pair” of jeans because there are two pant legs. 

But why doesn’t that apply to shirts?  One shirt or t-shirt is a common phrase used to describe a singular article of clothing.  Even though there are technically a pair of sleeves on a shirt, it is still called one shirt.  Likewise, a pant is a pant, not a “pair” of pants if it is only one.  Same goes for shorts (which should be called a “short” if only one is in question), and jeans. 

I am currently wearing one jean, not two.  I am also wearing one shirt, not a “pair of shirts.”  Now that sounds silly doesn’t it?

About mfastx

Washingtonian; Rockets fan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment